Über uns / Chancengleichheit / Gender Studies / Drei Studentinnen von hinten (EN)
Three female students cross the bridge to the RUB

Gender studies

Gender studies are firmly established in research and education at RUB – for example with visiting chairs and a Master’s degree.

Gender knowledge and gender competence are key skills that are continuously gaining in importance in today’s heterogeneous societies. Students develop cross-disciplinary understanding of power and inequality mechanics and the impact it has on the individual and on society. Using these skills, they initiate new processes in research and practice, develop instruments for the promotion of equal opportunities and implement diversity measures.

Marie Jahoda Guest Professorship

The Marie-Jahoda guest professorship for international women’s research was established at RUB in 1994, in order to provide fundamental impulses for an international, interdisciplinary and innovative gender research. In the meantime, 36 female professors were appointed to RUB through this program.

Gender Studies Degree Programmes

Gender Studies at RUB

The interdisciplinary master’s programme Gender Studies can be studied as a two subject programme at RUB since the winter semester 2005/2006.

Module Law of Equality and Gender Competency

Since the summer semester 2009, the RUB Master of Laws degree programme has featured the module Law of Equality and Gender Competency at the University of Hagen. The module focuses on gender issues in law and aims to strengthen competencies in legal questions surrounding gender.

Networks

Concerning research on gender and women’s matter, RUB has a tradition that goes back to the 1980s. This research is organized in various networks.

RUB-network Gender Studies

In its core, this network consists of seven professors and their designated chairs for women’s and gender studies. Simultaenously, they constitute the board of directors of the field of study.

Women’s Research Network NRW

This regional network represents a large group of female scholars from RUB.

Campaign on campus

The university is a social space. Problems and taboos that affect society are also reflected on campus. RUB does not tolerate harassment, sexual violence and discrimination on campus. The campaign “Our Campus” has been specifically launched to raise awareness and promote exchange. RUB protects all university members regardless of their gender identity and sexual orientation. It focuses on awareness, respect and civil courage among university members, as well as transparent preventive measures and guidance.

Equal opportunities
To top

Über uns / Chancengleichheit / Gender Studies / Drei Studentinnen von hinten (EN)
Three female students cross the bridge to the RUB

Gender Studies

An der RUB sind die Gender Studies in Forschung und Lehre und darüber hinaus fest etabliert – zum Beispiel mit Gastprofessuren und einem Masterstudiengang.

Genderwissen und Genderkompetenz sind Schlüsselqualifikationen, die in den heutigen heterogenen Gesellschaften immer wichtiger werden. Studierende entwickeln ein disziplinenübergreifendes Verständnis für die Funktionsweise von Macht und Ungleichheit und den daraus resultierenden Konsequenzen für Individuum und Gesellschaft. Sie können mit diesen Qualifikationen in Forschung und Praxis neue Prozesse anstoßen, Instrumente zur Schaffung von Chancengleichheit und Inklusion entwickeln und Diversitymaßnahmen implementieren.

Marie-Jahoda-Gastprofessur

Die Marie-Jahoda-Gastprofessur für internationale Frauenforschung der RUB setzt grundlegende Impulse für eine internationale, interdisziplinäre und innovative Geschlechterforschung. Seit 1994 wurden fast 50 internationale Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler auf die Professur berufen.

Gender Studies im Studium

Studienfach Gender Studies

Das akkreditierte Studienfach M.A. „Gender Studies – Kultur, Kommunikation, Gesellschaft“ wird sowohl als Ein-Fach-Master als auch als Zwei-Fach-Master in Kombination mit einem zweiten Fach angeboten. Es vermittelt Theorien und Methoden der Gender Studies aus einer interdisziplinären und international vergleichenden Perspektive.

Modul „Recht der Geschlechtergleichstellung und Genderkompetenz“

Seit dem Sommersemester 2009 wird im Studiengang Master of Laws an der Fernuniversität Hagen das Modul „Recht der Geschlechtergleichstellung und Genderkompetenz“ angeboten. Das Modul thematisiert Geschlechteraspekte im Recht und hat die Vermittlung juristischer Genderkompetenz zum Ziel.

Netzwerke

Die Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung kann an der RUB auf eine bis in die 1980er-Jahre reichende Tradition zurückblicken. Sie ist in verschiedenen Netzwerken organisiert.

RUB-Netzwerk Geschlechterforschung

Das RUB-Netzwerk besteht im Kern aus sechs Professorinnen, die ausgewiesene Lehrstühle für Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung innehaben. Sie bilden zugleich auch das Direktorium des Studienfaches Gender Studies.

Netzwerk Frauenforschung NRW

In diesem regionalen Netzwerk sind zahlreiche Wissenschaftlerinnen der RUB vertreten.

Campusweite Kampagne

Die Hochschule ist ein sozialer Raum. Gesellschaftliche Problemlagen und Tabuthemen spiegeln sich auch hier wider. Die RUB duldet keine Belästigung, sexualisierte Gewalt und Diskriminierung auf dem Campus. Die campusweite Kampagne „Unser Campus“ soll sensibilisieren und zum Austausch einladen. Denn die RUB schützt alle Universitätsangehörigen unabhängig von Geschlechtsidentität und sexueller Orientierung. Dazu gehören Achtsamkeit, Respekt und Zivilcourage untereinander genauso wie transparente Präventiv- und Beratungsmaßnahmen.

Chancengleichheit
Nach oben