Tenure_Track_Maschinenbau_EN
Young researcher looking at components

Tenure Track

A tenure-track professorship is an attractive station on the career path of early career researchers: it facilitates independent research and teaching at an early stage. After a successful evaluation process, they can be sure to be tenured. RUB offers excellent opportunities to researchers who show outstanding performance.

Learn more

The tenure-track concept

Our innovative, holistic concept to support early career researchers has been awarded 18 (TOKEN) tenure-track professorships by the federal-state programme for the promotion of early career researchers. By 2020, RUB will allocate these professorships to different disciplines, advertise them on the international level, and finalise the appointments. But this is only the beginning: starting in 2021, every new permanent professorial vacancy in the W2 or W3 salary categories will be advertised and awarded as a tenure-track professorship.

Tenure-track professorships at RUB

Most of the professorships advertised in the federal-state programme will be awarded after an internal selection process at RUB. RUB faculties and other RUB institutions can apply for these tenure-track professorships. To this end, the applicants have to elaborate in what way the professorship in question will raise the faculty’s and the university’s profile. If the application is approved by the Rectorate, the tenure-track professorship is advertised on an international level. Once such a professorship become available, it will be advertised here:

Job Advertisements (german website)

All tenure-track professorships advertised after the completion of the internal selection process will be posted in relevant job portals.

Requirements

All candidates undergo a standardised evaluation process. The requirements are deliberately high: we thus ensure that tenure-track professors who have successfully completed the evaluation process are on par with other lecturers and tutors in higher education. Early career researchers who are already employed at RUB are also welcome to apply for a tenure-track position, provided they had previously worked outside Ruhr-Universität for a period of at least two years. Should the future tenure-track professor leave the RUB, the professorship does not expire – rather, it provides a real chance to a new talent.

Service

Alternative career options
To top

Über uns
Tenure Track
Ein Mann hat einen Stift in der Hand und guckt in die Kamera

Tenure Track – Frühe Selbständigkeit, planbare Karriere

Für junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler ist eine Tenure-Track-Professur eine attraktive Station in ihrer wissenschaftlichen Karriere: Sie ermöglicht es ihnen schon früh, als Professorin oder Professor selbstständig zu forschen und zu lehren. Nach einer erfolgreichen Evaluation können sie darauf vertrauen, eine Professur auf Lebenszeit zu erhalten. Wer Herausragendes leistet, hat bei uns beste Chancen.

Das Konzept des Tenure Tracks

Unser innovatives Gesamtkonzept zur Unterstützung von jungen wissenschaftlichen Karrieren wurde vom Bund-Länder-Programm zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses mit insgesamt 18 Tenure-Track-Professuren belohnt. Bis 2020 wird die RUB diese Professuren auf viele verschiedene Fächer verteilen, international ausschreiben und besetzen. Aber das ist nur der Anfang: Ab 2021 wird an der RUB jede fünfte freiwerdende permanente W2- oder W3-Professur als Tenure-Track-Professur ausgeschrieben und besetzt werden.

Tenure-Track-Professuren an der RUB

Die meisten der im Bund-Länder-Programm geförderten Professuren werden in einem universitätsinternen Wettbewerb vergeben. Fakultäten und weitere Einrichtungen der RUB können sich um diese Tenure-Track-Professuren bewerben. Dazu legen die Antragssteller unter anderem dar, wie diese Professur das Profil der Fakultät und der Universität schärfen wird. Gewinnt der Antrag die Zustimmung des Rektorats, wird die Tenure-Track-Professur international ausgeschrieben.

Sobald eine solche Professur ausgeschrieben ist, erfahren Sie es hier:

Alle nach diesem internen Wettbewerb ab 2021 ausgeschriebenen Tenure-Track-Professuren werden in einschlägigen Stellenportalen erscheinen.

Die Bedingungen

Alle Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten durchlaufen einen standardisierten Evaluationsprozess. Die Anforderungen sind ganz bewusst herausfordernd angelegt: So stellen wir sicher, dass sich erfolgreich evaluierte Tenure-Track-Professorinnen und -Professoren anschließend auf Augenhöhe mit anderen Hochschullehrerinnen und -lehren befinden. Bereits an der RUB beschäftigte Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler können sich ebenfalls auf eine Tenure-Track-Stelle bewerben, sofern sie zuvor mindestens zwei Jahre außerhalb der Ruhr-Universität beschäftigt waren. Sollte die spätere Stelleninhaberin oder der Inhaber die RUB verlassen, bleibt die Professur weiterhin bestehen – und bietet einem neuen Talent eine echte Chance.

Mehr zur Tenure-Track-Professur
Nach oben